Built in 1894 by H. H Williams, the Williams House is one of the oldest remaining homes in Marble. The Williams family have their place in Marble’s history. John A. Williams was Marble’s Postmaster from 1908 to 1939, while the Williams Brothers General Store served Marble residents from the town’s heyday in 1905 through 1941 when the marble quarries ceased operation.
Nature took its toll on the house in 1941, sending a mud slide through the centre of town and moving the house off its foundation. The house lay abandoned until 1975 when John M. Williams, the great grandson of H. H. Williams, began its restoration. Now fully and beautifully restored, the Williams House has won architectural awards for its design and has been featured in House Beautiful’s 1982 edition of Home Remodelling for the excellence of the project.
The three-story Victorian style home features three bedrooms, three baths, a fully modern kitchen and laundry room equipped with washer and dryer, a separate dining room, a living room with a wood burning stove, and a roof top balcony where you can listen to the gently rushing water of Carbonate Creek below and enjoy a breathtaking view of the beautiful Crystal River Valley. Fully winterised, the home is ideal for anytime of year.